PM Modi will apologize for abrogating Article 370: J&K Congress Chief G A Mir

PM Modi will apologize for abrogating Article 370: J&K Congress Chief G A Mir

Clamour grows for restoration of Article 370, 35A and statehood for Jammu and Kashmir

After the Union government on Friday announced the withdrawal of farm laws, Jammu and Kashmir Congress chief Ghulam Ahmad Mir said that Prime Minister Narendra Modi will apologize for abrogating Article 370 soon.

Mir gave this statement while addressing the party workers convention in the Anantnag district in South Kashmir.

Earlier, Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) chief Mehbooba Mufti and National Conference (JKNC) chairperson Farooq Abdullah called for the restoration of Article 370 and 35A and the statehood of Jammu and Kashmir.

Mehbooba Mufti, Farooq Abdullah demand restoration of Article 370

Mufti expressed hope that the Union government will reverse the “illegal changes made in J&K since August 2019” and said that the decision to repeal the three farm laws “stemmed from electoral compulsions and fear of drubbing in elections”.

It is ironic that the BJP needs to please people in the rest of India for votes; she said and accused the BJP government of punishing and humiliating Kashmiris to satisfy its major vote bank.

Besides Article 370 and 35A, many Muslim organisations and religious leaders have called for the repeal of the contentious CAA and NRC, and UAPA.

Jamiat Ulema-e-Hind demands withdrawal of CAA 

During the winter session of Parliament, the opposition may jointly press their demands of repealing Article 370 and CAA-NRC.

Syed Sadatullah Hussaini, President, Jamaat-e-Islami Hind called CAA-NRC “anti-people and anti-Constitutional laws” and urged the PM to withdraw them at the earliest.

“All draconian laws, including CAA and Unlawful Activities (Prevention) Act (UAPA), need to be withdrawn,” said President of Majlis-e-Mushawarat, Navaid Hamid.

The Muslim leaders have claimed that the CAA movement encouraged the farmers to protest against the farm laws.

The CAA allows persecuted minorities belonging to the Hindu, Sikh, Jain, Buddhist, Parsi, and Christian communities from Pakistan, Bangladesh, and Afghanistan to avail of Indian citizenship.

Related posts