Repoll in 38 Booths of Budgam on April 13, Omar Abdullah questions logic behind

Fool-proof security arrangements put in place to ensure peaceful voting: CEO

Chief Electoral Officer (CEO), Shantmanu, Tuesday reviewed the arrangements put in place for re-polling at 38 polling stations in district Budgam of Srinagar Parliamentary Constituency scheduled to be held on April 13.
District Election Officer (DEO) Budgam, SSP Budgam and other concerned were present at the meeting.
The CEO said adequate security will be provided at all the 38 polling stations that are located at 32 different locations in district Budgam. He said foolproof arrangements of security have been put in place to ensure free, fair and peaceful conduct of re-polling.
He appealed the people to cooperate with the administration in maintaining peaceful atmosphere in the district during re-poll.
Pertinently, as per a notification issued by Election Commission of India (ECI) re-polling is to be held on 38 polling booths of Srinagar Parliamentary Constituency on April 13 from 7.00 am to 4.00 pm.
As per the ECI notification, the polling stations in Chadoora Assembly constituency, where re-polling is to be held include 31-Bogam Batepora (B), 32-Bogam Batepora (B), 33-Nowbug, 39-Chack Mahand-Joo-Dhar, 52-Wathora (B), 54-Zoolwah, 55-Gopalpora (A), 56-Gopalpora (B), 57-Dooniwari, 60-Kralpora (A), 61-Kralpora (B), 63-Kralpora (D), 65-Dharambug (A), 66-Dharambug (B), 87-Bagi Mehtab (B) and 98-Dharambug (C).
In Budgam Assembly Constituency, the re-polling would be held on 22- Nusurullah Pora (B), 23-Nusurullah Pora (C), 28-Galwanpora (A), 30-Haripora, 32-Wara Sangam, 40-Soibug (H), 107-Putlibagh and 120-Galwanpora (B) polling booths.
Similarly, in Beerwah Assembly Segment, the re-polling would be held on 15-Kanihama, 29-Badran (B), 34-Peerpora, 89-Sehpora and 94-Gundipora (A) polling booths.
Likewise, the re-polling would also be held on 7-Repora, 9-Gopal Saif (A), 16-Nowpora, 38-Chrar-i-Sharief (M), 86-Kanir (A), 87-Kanir (B), 90-Hushroo and 91-Wagam of Chrar-e-Sharief Assembly Segment and polling booth number 79-Kandora (B) of Khan Sahib Assembly Constituency.

Meanwhile, opposition National Conference working president and former chief minister Omar Abdullah Tuesday questioned the logic behind holding a repoll in 38 polling stations in Srinagar Lok Sabha constituency in the wake of EC postponing the bypoll in Anantnag seat till May 25.
“Situation is not conducive for polls in Anantnag but it is conducive for a repoll in the areas worst affected by violence on April 9. Logic?” Omar wrote on Twitter.
The Election Commission yesterday decided to postpone the bypoll in Anantnag Lok Sabha seat from April 12 to May 25, hours after an appeal by PDP candidate for the seat and CM Mehbooba Mufti’s brother Tassaduq Hussain Mufti to this effect.

Related posts