J&K beat Haryana by 130 runs in Ranji Trophy

J&K’s mentor-cum-player Irfan Pathan took five-wicket haul while as Umar Nazir took three wickets as J&K bundled out hosts Haryana for 91 runs in their second inning to register 130 run win in the match of Ranji Trophy at Chaudhry Bansi Lal Cricket Stadium, Lahli on Sunday.
Having being reduced to 49 for the loss of four wickets by Irfan Pathan in chase of 221 run target, Haryana got bundled out for 91 runs in their second inning to suffer 130-run defeat.

Soon after resuming their inning on third day of play, Haryana lost their fifth wicket in shape of Pramod Chandila, trapped lbw by Irfan Pathan, with the addition of a single run to overnight total. Mohammad Mudhasir clean bowled HV Patel to leave Haryana tottering on 53 for 6. RM Dagar and Yuzvendra Chahal tried to stay in the middle enduring extreme hostile spell of pace bowling from J&K bowlers. However, they could add only 22 runs more before J&K pacers again struck and made decisive breakthroughs to wrap up the inning quickly. Umar Nazir claimed the wicket of Y Chahal on the score of 15 and in next over on the very same score Akaash Chowdary got the wicket of Dagar. Umar then got two more wickets to get Haryana all out for 91 runs and J&K won match by 130 runs.
Pathan finished with 5-wicket haul in second inning while as Umar Nazir took three. Mudhasir and Akaash took one each. For Haryana, Ankit Kumar top scored with 17 while as Y Chahal scored 15.
The Lahli track lived upto its reputation as the four day match ended only in two and half days with each day saw heaps of wickets falling. On first day, 15 wickets fell while as on second 19 wickets fell. The third morning of play saw five wickets falling in less than an hour of play.
Earlier Haryana had won the toss and put visitors J&K to bat first. J&K got all out for 161 runs in first inning. Obaid Haroon with 26, Ian Dev with 23, Ahmad Banday with 22 and Owais Shah with 21 were notable scorers for them. Y Chahal and AK Chahal took three wickets each for Haryana.
Haryana in its first inning were bundled out for 145 run total as J&K two premier pacers Umar Nazir and Mohammad Mudhasir ran through their lineup. Nazir took five wicket haul while as Mudhasir took four. RP Sharma with 45 was highest scorer for Haryana as they conceded first inning lead of 16 runs.
In its second inning, J&K went on to score 205 runs, thanks to a brilliant 71-run knock played by Owais Shah. Shubham Khajuria with 34 and Parvez Rasool with 30 were other notable scorers for J&K.Y Chahal took four while as AK Chahal took three for Haryana.
In its second inning, while chasing a target of 221 runs to win, Haryana got all out for 91 to hand J&K 130 run win. Win this win, J&K bagged six points and now have 13 points. Umar Nazir, for picking up eight wickets in the match was adjudged as ‘Man of the Match’.

Brief Scores:
1st Innings
J&K: 161/10 (Obaid 26, Ian 23, Y Chahal 3-wkts, A Chahal 3-wkts)
Haryana: 145/10 (Sharma 41, Rana 29, Umar 5-wkts, Mudhasir 4-wkts)
2nd Innings
J&K: 205/10 ( Owais 71, Khajuria 34, Y Chahal 4-wkts, AK Chahal 3-wkts)
Haryana: 91/10 (Kumar 17, Y Chahal 15, Irfan Pathan 5-wkts, Umar 3-wkts)

Related posts