13 BJP, 2 Congress candidates withdraw nominations, 200 likely to sail through unopposed

A day ahead of the last date of withdrawal of nominations for the fourth and the last phase of municipal elections, 13 BJP candidates “withdrew” from the poll race in the Dooru area of Anantnag district.

They also gave up the basic party membership. Dooru is scheduled to go to the polls on October 16.

“All 13 members have withdrawn their nominations,” said Ghulam Hassan Bhat, constituency president of the BJP in Dooru. Bhat said he had also resigned from the primary membership of the party.

“The party has done nothing for the people and I cannot betray my people. We cannot continue with the BJP any further,” Bhat said.
However, the Sub-Divisional Magistrate, Dooru, confirmed withdrawal of only five nominations, including three from the BJP and two from the Congress.

The withdrawal of nominations came hours after the stacks of paddy crop of BJP candidate Gul Muhammad Khan was set on fire by miscreants.

Meanwhile, unknown persons set ablaze the car of Independent candidate Nisar Ahmad at Kaka Mohalla in the Rainawari area of old Srinagar by spraying petrol on Wednesday night.

Meanwhile, Nearly 200 candidates are likely to get elected uncontested from 40 municipal bodies spread over 10 districts in the Kashmir valley.

Related posts